1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Janet Evanovich Books

Complete Book List by Year


Janet Evanovich became one of the most popular authors in America through her Stephanie Plum series, but before writing thrillers, she was a romance novelist. She has also published nonfiction and short stories. This complete list of Janet Evanovich's books is organized by year and includes brief descriptions of each title to help you choose what to read.

1987 -'Hero at Large'

Hero at Large was Evanovich's first published book, and was published under the pseudonym Steffie Hall. Hero at Large is a short romance novel about a man who charms a single mom. It involves cooking mishaps and a Zamboni. HarperCollins re-released Hero at Large under Evanovich's name in 2010.

1988 - 'The Grand Finale'

Grand Finale by Janet Evanovich
Evanovich's second romance novel, written as Steffie Hall, was re-released by HarperCollins in 2009. It tells the story of Berry Knudson, who climbs a tree to save a kitten and spies a sexy man undressing through a window. She falls from the tree, and finds love through comic mayhem.

1988 - 'Thanksgiving'

Thanksgiving by Janet Evanovich
Originally published under the name Steffie Hall, HarperCollins re-released Thanksgiving under Evanovich's name in 2006. Thanksgiving is the story of Megan Murphy, who has to overcome past heartache if she is going to let a sweet new doctor into her life.

1988 - 'Manhunt'

Manhunt by Janet Evanovich
Manhunt is about Alexandra Scott, a woman who leaves her Wall Street job and moves to Alaska to find a man. When the man she's looking for appears, he's determined not to get caught. This was a Steffie Hall novel that HarperCollins republished in 2005.

1989 - 'Ivan Takes a Wife'

Ivan Takes a Wife by Janet Evanovich
The heroine of Ivan Takes a Wife is named Stephanie, and many fans wonder if she is an early incarnation of Stephanie Plum. This Stephanie is a sassy ex-cop who is falling in love. It was republished under the title Love Overboard in 2005.

1989 - 'Foul Play'

Foul Play by Janet Evanovich
Foul Play was originally published under the name Steffie Hall and was re-published in 2008. In Foul Play, Amy Klasse loses her job to a dancing chicken, then when the chicken goes missing, she is suspected of foul play. Jake Elliott gave Amy a new job and then teams with her to prove her innocence (and fall in love).

1989 - 'Back to the Bedroom'

Back to the Bedroom by Janet Evanovich
Back to the Bedroom was inspired by two townhouses in Washington D.C. In the novel, the occupants of the townhouses have some misadventures before falling in love. This was re-released in 2005 and originally published as a Steffie Hall novel.

1989 - 'Full House'

Full House by Janet Evanovich
St. Martin's Press
Evanovich originally wrote Full House under the name Steffie Hall in 1989. In 2002, she teamed up with Charlotte Hughes to expand the novel and turn it into a series. It was republished with the same title. Full House is the first book in a series of romantic adventures in the spirit of Stephanie Plum that are co-authored with Charlotte Hughes.

1990 - 'Smitten'

Smitten by Janet Evanovich
Smitten is a Steffie Hall romance novel about a single mom who takes a construction job even though she has no experience and then falls for the builder. It was re-released in 2006.

1990 - 'Wife for Hire'

Wife for Hire by Janet Evanovich
Hank Mallone asks Maggie Toone to pretend to be his wife so he can get a bank loan. You can imagine what ensues -- small town gossip, shenanigans, and both parties getting more than they bargained for. Wife for Hire is a Steffie Hall romance novel that was re-released in 2007.
  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Bestsellers
  4. Book & Movie Lists
  5. Janet Evanovich Books - Complete List by Year

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.